23 February 2018

Marion Located!

 I was getting worried about her.  Better late to the party than absent.
Marion P. Hammer

USF Executive Director

NRA Past President

In the wake of an atrocious act of premeditated murder, an organized effort to bully legislators into passing legislation to hijack your Second Amendment rights is underway.

The gun control faction is out in full force, determined to use the senseless murder of the students and adults at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School as an excuse to promote their gun ban agenda.

Numerous gun control proposals that have been mentioned include:

1.) Waiting periods on long guns
2.) Raising age limits on the purchase of long guns
3.) Age limits on possession of semi-automatic rifles
4.) Ban of so-called "assault weapons"
5.) Ban of "bump-stocks"
6.) Removing the exemption for concealed weapons license holders from the existing waiting period on handguns

Please email or call your legislators IMMEDIATELY and ask them to focus on fixing our broken mental health system and improving school security, not punishing law-abiding gun owners because of the act of a deranged criminal.

Please EMAIL the following members of the Legislature IMMEDIATELY and tell them NO GUN CONTROL. Urge them to provide armed security in schools and tighten mental health laws to keep guns out of the hands of those who are a danger to themselves or others.

IN THE SUBJECT LINE PUT: GUN CONTROL Won't Protect our Children

(To send your message to all just Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

SENATE

baxley.dennis@flsenate.gov,
bean.aaron@flsenate.gov,
benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov,
bradley.rob@flsenate.gov,
brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov,
broxson.doug@flsenate.gov,
flores.anitere@flsenate.gov,
gainer.george@flsenate.gov,
galvano.bill@flsenate.gov,
garcia.rene@flsenate.gov,
grimsley.denise@flsenate.gov,
hukill.dorothy@flsenate.gov,
hutson.travis@flsenate.gov,
lee.tom@flsenate.gov,
mayfield.debbie@flsenate.gov,
negron.joe@flsenate.gov,
passidomo.kathleen@flsenate.gov,
perry.keith@flsenate.gov,
simmons.david@flsenate.gov,
simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov,
stargel.kelli@flsenate.gov,
steube.greg@flsenate.gov,
young.dana@flsenate.gov,

HOUSE

larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov,
ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov,
Thad.Altman@myfloridahouse.gov
Bryan.Avila@myfloridahouse.gov,
Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov,
michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov,
jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
jason.brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov,
danny.burgess@myfloridahouse.gov,
Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov,
cord.byrd@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chuck.Clemons@myfloridahouse.gov,
neil.combee@myfloridahouse.gov,
richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bob.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov,
travis.cummings@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Byron.Donalds@myfloridahouse.gov,
brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Randy.Fine@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jason.Fischer@myfloridahouse.gov,
Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
tom.goodson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Erin.Grall@myfloridahouse.gov,
james.grant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Michael.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Joe.Gruters@myfloridahouse.gov,
bill.hager@myfloridahouse.gov,
Don.Hahnfeldt@myfloridahouse.gov,
gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov,
shawn.harrison@myfloridahouse.gov,
Blaise.Ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov,
Sam.Killebrew@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Leek@myfloridahouse.gov,
MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov,
Amber.Mariano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ralph.Massullo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Stan.McClain@myfloridahouse.gov,
Lawrence.McClure@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Alex.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov,
george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov,
jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bobby.Olszewski@myfloridahouse.gov,
Daniel.Perez@myfloridahouse.gov,
bobby.payne@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov,
Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rene.Plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov,
mel.ponder@myfloridahouse.gov,
elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov,
Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov,
Paul.Renner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bob.Rommel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rick.Roth@myfloridahouse.gov,
david.santiago@myfloridahouse.gov,
ross.spano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Sprowls@myfloridahouse.gov,
cyndi.stevenson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jackie.Toledo@myfloridahouse.gov,
carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov,
frank.white@myfloridahouse.gov,
jayer.williamson@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.yarborough@myfloridahouse.gov,

3 comments:

  1. My contribution to the mass mailing:

    I notice that not a single piece of legislation falling out of the shooting in Parkland this past week includes anything to address the people whom really failed.

    No punitive measures are going to be leveled at any level of government, are there?

    But they see fit to blame me and people like me whom weren't even there.

    You seek to punish millions of people for the acts of a handful of people.

    People whom were known to law enforcement.

    Law enforcement did nothing to stop these shootings.

    The solutions aren't where you're being pressed to turn.

    So do not fall into the trap of being pressured into doing something while emotions are still running raw and hot.

    The worst thing in the world is a Lawmaker responding to a tragedy with, "We must do something! This is SOMETHING! Therefore we mush do THIS!"

    No. You must consider the needs of all of your constituents. Not a mere handful of very loud voices, but the literal millions of people who'd you never hear a thing about... except when you propose to punish us for the acts of others.

    We're more than just votes. We're people too. People whom you were elected to serve, not dictate to.

    Thank you for your time.

    ReplyDelete
  2. First: would you have an email contact address for the Legendary Ms. Hammer?

    Second: you said in your comment The worst thing in the world is a Lawmaker responding to a tragedy with, "We must do something! This is SOMETHING! Therefore we mush do THIS!"

    I heard Geraldo Rivera making essentially this argument on Hannity at CPAC Thursday night, saying "Do you want to do NOTHING?" I call this "argument by false dichotomy". The choice isn't "This or NOTHING", the choice is something that might matter vs. things we're 99% sure won't work. If your proposal is going to take away freedoms from the millions who didn't attack anyone, then, yeah, I want to do nothing.

    Take the new proposal SB7022. 3 day waiting periods won't matter to psychos who plan their moment of fame for years. They already have a 5 day waiting period down there, anyway (went to a gun show down there once). Raising the age to buy a gun to 21 just penalizes someone like a 19 year old single mom who needs a self-defense tool, or young man who needs to travel or work in high crime areas. Finally, banning bump stocks? Seriously? I bet if all the bump stocks on the planet suddenly disappeared, not one crime would be affected.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have no idea how to contact her or United Sportsmen of Florida.

    I wish I had the magic wand to force legislators to slow the fuck down and consider other options.

    ReplyDelete

You are a guest here when you comment. Be polite. Inappropriate comments will be deleted without mention. Amnesty period is expired.

Do not go off on a tangent, stay with the topic of the post. If I can't tell what your point is in the first couple of sentences I'm flushing it.

If you're trying to comment anonymously: Sign your work.

Anonymous comments must pass a higher bar than others. Repeat offenders must pass an even higher bar.

If you can't comprehend this, don't comment; because I'm going to moderate and mock you for wasting your time.